Menu Close

What is Karma | What are the types of Karma

Even under the Bhagavad Gita, Lord Krishna tells Arjuna that ‘karmanyevadhikaraste ma phaleshu kadachan’ (Hindi: कर्मण्येवाधिकारस्ते मा फलेषु कदाचन) means that you can only do action, the fruit or result of that action is not in your hands. Therefore, without worrying about the result, one should continue to do the work. In this article, we know what is Karma and what are the types of Karma.

What is Karma

What is Karma

Karma means any action that you are doing now. Like eating, drinking, walking, talking to someone etc. It also includes some mental activities, such as thinking about someone good or bad, it also comes under karma. Basically ‘Karma’ is called ‘Kriya’. That is, action done with body, speech and mind is karma. Keeping this action in mind in the form of ‘Karma’, in the scriptures, Vedas, Gita, Puranas etc., Karma-Akarma, Auspicious-Inauspicious Karma, Karma-yoga, Karma-Bandhan etc. have been explained.

To be free from the fruit of karma, one should do such actions so that there is no bondage and new karma does not become bondage. According to the Bhagavad-gtā, the only way to get rid of the bondage of karma is to do the karma as one’s duty only, without desiring the fruits of selfishness.

What are the types of Karma

There are mainly three types of karma mentioned in Dharmashastra. which is like this:

  • Kriyamaan Karma
  • Sanchit Karma
  • Prabhash Karma

1. Kriyamaan Karma

The word ‘Kriyaman’ means – ‘that which is being done, or that which is happening’. Our thinking, activities in our daily routine like eating, bathing, behaving good or bad towards people all these come under kriyaman karma.

2. Sanchit Karma

Sanchit karma means whatever good or bad karma we have done in our previous lives. All those actions whose fruit or fruit we have not received. Comes under Sanchit Karma. Sanchit karma means the accumulation of karmas done in the present from the past several births is called sanchit karma. They are infinite, because we have had infinite births and new karmas keep accumulating in them. That is, the accumulation of sins and virtuous deeds of our many births is the Sanchit Karma.

In fact, it is only after death that this physical body or body perishes, whereas the astral body remains attached to the soul for birth after birth. This subtle body is the carrier of good and bad sanskars for birth after birth. Sanskar means all the good and bad deeds done by us. Sanchit Karma is the collection of Karmas of many births performed by us. Those whom we do not know, but God knows because they give the fruits of our actions.

3. Prabhash Karma

Prarabdha means ‘luck’. Out of our sanchit karma, only a small fraction of the karma we have to suffer in this birth is called prarabdha karma. Before our birth, according to our karma, in whose house we have to take birth in this birth, it is decided by our prarabdha karma.

Some of our Sanchit Karmas, the fruits of which we are going to get, are called our Prarabdha Karmas. According to prarabdha karma, where, how, where we will be born, how we will get married and how we will die. We know luck or fate only by the name of fate.

Also Read-

Related Posts