Menu Close

What is Veto Power in UN and India

In this article we will know what is Veto Power in UN (United Nations) and India.The power of veto has been given to the five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council. China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States are the five permanent members of the United Nations that use the veto to pass any resolution.

What is veto power in UN and India

What is veto power in the UN

Veto power means that any person, institution or country can stop a decision or law. For example, in the United Nations Security Council (UNSC), the United States, the United Kingdom, China, Russia, and France each of these five permanent members have veto power. Using this, they can prevent Security Council decisions from being passed and becoming resolutions until they all agree to them. In simple language, if any one of the 5 members veto it, then the present motion will be rejected. Many countries like India, Japan and Brazil are also demanding permanent membership of the Security Council i.e. veto power.

The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations. It is the most powerful organization of the United Nations. It is responsible for ensuring international peace and security and for approving any changes to the United Nations Charter. In some cases the UNSC may resort to the imposition of sanctions or the use of force to maintain or restore international peace and security.

The presidency of the United Nations Security Council changes every month and is in alphabetical order in English. It is currently headed by Russia. It has five permanent members. These include America, Russia, Britain, France and China. Along with this, 10 non-permanent members are also elected every two years. Currently, India, Brazil, Albania, Gabon, Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, Norway, United Arab Emirates are non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council.

What is Veto Power in India

In India, the President has three veto powers, i.e. – assent, dissent and withholding decision. If the President agrees with a bill, he can approve it by signing it, if he thinks that it needs to be changed, then the President can send the bill back to Parliament for amendment, which has the veto right of dissent. But a bill reconsidered by the Parliament becomes law after 14 days with or without the assent of the President.

Last, withholding a bill, the President does not act on a bill indefinitely, sometimes called a pocket veto. A bill can be kept pending indefinitely if the President exercises his pocket veto. In such a situation, he neither rejects the bill nor returns the bill for reconsideration.

Also Read-

Related Posts